Universitätssiegel
Project
Funding: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Duration: 09/01/2011 until 08/31/2013
 

Research project

Neoartisanal production, digital technology and the new role of the periphery in the global market for still and moving images (Argentina, Uruguay)
Photographer: Luis Argerich

Neoartisanal production, digital technology and the new role of the periphery in the global market for still and moving images (Argentina, Uruguay)

Recent studies have observed that digitalization causes a decoupling of specific forms of creative work from urban centers. Therefore, the prevailing dualism of centrifugal routine work and centripetal creative work appears as conceptually inadequate. The research project aims identifying mechanisms of integration of creative people or businesses outside the creative centers as well as of peripheral creative locations into the global creative industries.

The project is dedicated to respond to the following questions: How is the social and spatial division of labor in the creative industries changing as a result of digital technology? How does the creative work from the periphery gain access to the global market for creative products?

Taking the markets for still and moving images (commercial photography and advertising film) as examples, the project examines the increasing international project work, the change from commissioned production towards trading of pre-produced images and media convergence of photography and film into a joint international agency trade.

In this context the significance of conferences and fairs for the development of this new international division of labor will be addressed. A regional case study will focus on the peripheral creative region adjacent to the mouth of the Río de La Plata including the capital cities of Buenos Aires and Montevideo. The project aims to contribute to the differentiation and development of a theory of the geographical organization of creative work and the economic geographical understanding of the relationship between local and global relationships in the creative industries.

Editor: Webmaster-Team
Latest Revision: 2017-11-24
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel

Thumbnail
Neoartisian Economy

 
Projektdetails
Förderung: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Laufzeit: 01.9.2011 bis 31.08.2013
 

Forschungsprojekt

Neo-Kunsthandwerk, digitale Technologie und die neue Rolle der Peripherie im Weltmarkt für stille und bewegte Bilder (Argentinien, Uruguay)
Bildautor: Luis Argerich

Neo-Kunsthandwerk, digitale Technologie und die neue Rolle der Peripherie im Weltmarkt für stille und bewegte Bilder (Argentinien, Uruguay)

Ausgangspunkt des Projekts ist die Beobachtung in jüngsten Studien, dass durch die Digitalisierung bestimmte Formen kreativer Arbeit von urbanen Zentren entkoppelt werden. Daher erscheint der vorherrschende Dualismus von zentrifugaler Routinearbeit und zentripetaler Kreativarbeit als konzeptionell unzureichend. Das Forschungsprojekt verfolgt das Ziel, Mechanismen der geographischen Einbindung Kreativer außerhalb der Kreativzentren sowie peripherer Kreativstandorte in die globale Kreativwirtschaft zu identifizieren.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Fragen, wie sich die soziale und räumliche Arbeitsteilung der Kreativarbeit infolge der digitalen Technologie verändert und wie die Kreativarbeit aus der Weltmarktperipherie den Zugang zum globalen Markt für Kreativprodukte findet.

Am Beispiel der visuellen Märkte für stille und bewegte Bilder (Werbefotografie und Werbefilm) untersucht das Vorhaben die zunehmende internationale Projektarbeit, den Wandel von Auftragsproduktionen hin zum Handel vorproduzierter Bilder und die mediale Konvergenz von Fotografie und Film in einem gemeinsamen internationalen Agenturhandel.

Dabei geht das Projekt der Frage nach, welche Bedeutung Messen und Konferenzen als temporäre Cluster für die Herausbildung dieser neuen Arbeitsteilung haben. Im Rahmen eines regionalen Fallbeispiels wird zudem das empirische Interesse auf die periphere Kreativregion an der Mündung des Río de La Plata mit den benachbarten Hauptstadtmetropolen Buenos Aires und Montevideo gelenkt. Das Vorhaben strebt an, mit der Differenzierung und Weiterentwicklung einer Theorie der geographischen Organisation von Kreativarbeit einen Beitrag zum wirtschaftsgeographischen Verständnis des Verhältnisses von lokalen und globalen Beziehungen in der Kreativwirtschaft zu leisten.

Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 30.08.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up