Universitätssiegel

Thumbnail
Institutional Change

 
Project
Funding: DFG
 

Research Project

Geography of institutional change: A comparative analysis of family firm succession in Baden-Württemberg and the Basque Country

Social institutions have increasingly become recognized as important factors of economic development. However, institutions vary across regions, and allegedly ‘good institutions’ are hard to imitate or transmit to other locations. For this reason, both institutional research and economic geography face the challenge of understanding the generation and transformation of social institutions.

This inherent processuality can best be studied in situations of change, which is why this research project focuses on enterprise succession in family firms. The situation of enterprise succession, increasingly posing a challenge to the long-term continuity of regionally embedded family businesses all over Europe, serves as both the unit of analysis and the trigger of institutional change in inter-firm interactions. Consequently, this project pursues two objectives:

  • Explaining different forms and courses of enterprise succession as effects of regionally specific institutional differences.
  • Qualifying the mechanisms of institutional change posterior to an enterprise succession.

Whereas the explanation of regionally specific institutional effects requires a comparative analysis, an explicit process analysis is needed for qualifying the mechanisms of institutional change. Hence, the research design includes a regional comparison between Baden-Württemberg and the Spanish Basque Country, two highly successful and innovative regions characterized by (small and medium-sized) family businesses. By adopting a qualitative panel approach over a period of three years focusing on successors, but also taking into account a firm’s predecessor, employees and related companies, this project uses explicit process analysis for the qualification of mechanisms of institutional change. The general objective of this project is to contribute to a geography of institutional change, and to improve our understanding of differential regional development in order to reduce discrepancies between regulation (policy) and the behaviour of enterprises.

Editor: Webmaster Team
Latest Revision: 2016-11-30
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel

Thumbnail
Institutional Change

 
Projektdetails
Förderung: DFG
 
Mitarbeitende
 

Forschungsprojekt

Geographie institutionellen Wandels: Eine vergleichende Analyse der Unternehmensnachfolge in Baden-Württemberg und dem spanischen Baskenland

Soziale Institutionen werden zunehmend als wichtige Bedingung für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung anerkannt. Da sie jedoch inter-regional variieren und vermeintlich ‚gute Institutionen‘ nur schwer zu imitieren oder transferieren sind, stellt sich sowohl für die Institutionenforschung als auch für die Wirtschaftsgeographie die Aufgabe, die Entstehung und Veränderung sozialer Institutionen zu qualifizieren.

Diese Prozesshaftigkeit lässt sich empirisch am besten in Phasen des Wandels erkennen, weshalb sich dieses Forschungsprojekt auf die Unternehmensnachfolge in Familienunternehmen richtet. Die Situation der Nachfolge, die für die langfristige Kontinuität des meist regional verwurzelten europäischen Mittelstands eine wachsende Herausforderung darstellt, dient sowohl als Untersuchungsgegenstand als auch als Anlass für institutionellen Wandel in zwischenbetrieblichen Interaktionsbeziehungen. Entsprechend verfolgt dieses Projekt zwei zentrale Ziele:

  • Die Erklärung unterschiedlicher Formen und Verläufe der Unternehmensnachfolge aufgrund regionalspezifischer institutioneller Unterschiede.
  • Die Qualifizierung von Mechanismen des institutionellen Wandels im Anschluss an die Unternehmensnachfolge.

Während die Erklärung regionalspezifischer institutioneller Wirkungen eine komparative Analyse erfordert, bedarf es zur Qualifizierung von Mechanismen institutionellen Wandels einer expliziten Prozessanalyse. Das Untersuchungsdesign sieht folglich einen regionalen Vergleich zwischen den erfolgreichen, innovativen und mittelständisch geprägten Regionen Baden-Württembergs und des spanischen Baskenlandes vor. Über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren soll mithilfe qualitativer Panelbefragungen von Nachfolgern erstmalig eine explizite Prozessanalyse verfolgt werden, die zur Qualifizierung von Mechanismen institutionellen Wandels notwendig ist. Zur internen Validität der Erkenntnisse bezieht das Projekt zusätzlich Gespräche mit den zugehörigen Übergebern, Mitarbeitern und verbundenen Unternehmen mit ein. Insgesamt leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag zu einer Geographie institutionellen Wandels, die zur Aufklärung von Wirkungsdefiziten bzw. Fehlabstimmungen normativer Regulation auf die unternehmerische Handlungsebene beiträgt und Anknüpfungspunkte für institutionell kompatible Regionalpolitiken leisten soll.

Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 30.11.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up