Universitätssiegel
Im Neuenheimer Feld 348
69120 Heidelberg
rd372@uni-heidelberg.de
Phone: +49 6221/544384
 
Office Hours
by appointment
 

Charlotte Stirn

Charlotte Stirn worked as a research assistant in the laboratory for geomorphology and geoecology from 2012 to 2017. Afterwards she worked as a research assistant in the HeiKa-Explore project AsFreeH2O. Since July 2018, she has been doing her doctorate as part of a cross-institute cooperation project between Geosciences (Dr. Martin Maier), Geography and Global Health (Dr. Amanda Wendt, now Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research), which was funded by the Heidelberg Center for the Environment (HCE) (Influence of human waste on arsenic release into drinking water in Bangladesh - geochemical and statistical investigations). Since January 2019, she has been a scholarship holder of the Johannes Hübner Foundation, Gießen.

Projekt

Investigation and evaluation of spatial and temporal factors influencing arsenic mobility in the groundwater of Bangladesh

In some regions of the world and especially in Southeast Asia, groundwater contains arsenic levels above the World Health Organization (WHO) drinking water guideline value of 10µg/l. This is particularly problematic in countries where groundwater is used as drinking water without further treatment - as in Bangladesh.

The problem has been known for decades, but the processes of arsenic mobilization and the influencing factors are still not fully understood. This is because the arsenic contents in wells exhibit very strong spatial variability - with very different contents in a very small area. A relevant factor are the geological conditions, but also other factors such as organic carbon content of the sediment, mineralogy, hydrology and land use.


Fig. 1: Map of arsenic concentrations in the groundwater of Bangladesh 2001 (British Geological Survey 2001) and location of the four current investigation sites.

According to the current state of research, it is assumed that mainly organic carbon contributes to the development of anoxic conditions. Under these conditions, the iron minerals dissolve and the arsenic bound to them is released.

Within the framework of the investigations sponsored by HCE, it was statistically examined whether the distance between simple pit latrines and wells has an influence on the arsenic content of the well (Fig. 2). The project is not yet completed, but initial data indicate that wells in the immediate vicinity (1-2m) of latrines contain significantly less arsenic. This is not surprising, since the latrines carry not only organic carbon and phosphate but also oxygen and oxygen carriers such as nitrate - which leads to the immobilisation of arsenic. It has not been possible to clarify whether geochemical conditions are created at the distance of latrines or by other anthropogenic carbon inputs (e.g. ponds), which could lead to arsenic mobilisation.

Fig. 2: Example of a normal bathroom in Bangladesh: The simple household well with a hand pump is located directly next to the latrine, whose wastewater is usually discharged into the underground (pit latrine), a septic tank, or into the nearest pond - often only a few metres away from the well.

The aim of the doctoral thesis resulting from this project is to clarify the question of which spatial and temporal factors can be determined. The following approaches are planned for this purpose:

  • Evaluation of remote sensing data to assess large-scale influences from land use (e.g. wet rice cultivation) and monsoon-related flooding (Fig. 3, area I).
  • Mapping of anthropogenic influences (e.g. ponds, latrines, wells) and area-wide groundwater sampling for wells in this area (Fig. 3, Area II and detail).
  • Sediment sampling to take account of geological, hydrological and geochemical conditions.
  • Vertically stratified temperature measurements, groundwater and gas sampling (Fig. 3, detail) to determine the microbial degradation activity of organic carbon.

Fig.3: Planned staged methodology at the two sites.

In a bachelor thesis at the Institute of Geosciences it could already be established that extremely high methane concentrations occur at the Habiganj site (NO Bangladesh). Isotope measurements of methane (CH4) and carbon dioxide (CO2) showed clear indications of microbial formation of the gases. A correlation between arsenic and methane contents is particularly striking. In February 2020, further gas and groundwater samples were taken at the Bera and Chandpur sites (see Fig. 1). The process causing this correlation is to be clarified in a proposed DFG project together with the University of Tübingen.

The doctoral study is scheduled to last three years. In the first year (2019) the methodology was developed, which will be implemented on site in the second year (2020) with the support of an experienced sampler. In the third year (2021) the data obtained will be evaluated. In order to ensure the representativeness and comparability of the data, sampling will be carried out at two locations.

On site, the project is supported by AGAPE e.V. Bangladesh - the sponsor of the Heidelberg-based association Agape e.V.

The PhD is financed by the Johannes Hübner Foundation, Gießen.

Scientific focus
  • Anthropogenic influences on geochemical processes in groundwater
  • Bangladesh, South East Asia
  • Temperature measurements to determine the microbial degradation activity of organic carbon
  • Localization of geochemical processes
Master thesis

Evaluation of anthropogenic influences on sediment and groundwater and their effects on arsenic mobilisation in Bangladesh using the example of latrines, in the districts of Pabna and Sirajganj.

Bachelor thesis

Reconstruction of the development of natural areas and agriculture based on sedimentological and geochemical analyses of a wetland - using the example of a wetland near Sikenica-Agáta, southern (western) Slovakia.

Editor: Webmaster Team
Latest Revision: 2020-08-03
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel
Im Neuenheimer Feld 348
69120 Heidelberg
E-Mail: rd372@uni-heidelberg.de
Tel.: +49 6221/544384
 
Sprechstunde
Nach Vereinbarung
 

Charlotte Stirn

Charlotte Stirn war von 2012 bis 2017 als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft im Labor für Geomorphologie und Geoökologie tätig. Anschließend arbeitete sie als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft in dem HeiKa-Explore Projekt AsFreeH2O. Seit Juli 2018 promoviert sie im Rahmen eines institutsübergreifenden Kooperationsprojekts zwischen Geowissenschaften (Dr. Martin Maier), Geographie und Global Health (Dr. Amanda Wendt), das vom Heidelberg Center for the Environment (HCE) gefördert wurde (Influence of human waste on arsenic release into drinking water in Bangladesh – geochemical and statistical investigations). Seit Januar 2019 ist sie Stipendiatin der Johannes Hübner Stiftung, Gießen.

Projekt

Untersuchung und Bewertung der räumlichen und zeitlichen Einflussfaktoren auf die Arsenmobilität im Grundwasser in Bangladesch.

In einigen Regionen der Welt und insbesondere in Südostasien enthält das Grundwasser Arsengehalte oberhalb des von der World Health Organization (WHO) vorgeschriebenen Trinkwasser-Richtwerts von 10µg/l. Besonders problematisch ist dies in Ländern, wo Grundwasser ohne weitere Aufbereitung als Trinkwasser genutzt wird – wie in Bangladesch.

Das Problem ist schon seit Jahrzehnten bekannt, doch die Prozesse der Arsenmobilisierung und die beeinflussenden Faktoren nach wie vor nicht vollständig verstanden. Denn die Arsengehalte in den Brunnen weisen eine sehr starke räumliche Variabilität auf – mit sehr unterschiedlichen Gehalten auf sehr kleinem Raum. Ein relevanter Faktor sind die geologischen Bedingungen, aber auch andere Faktoren wie organischer Kohlenstoffgehalt des Sediments, Mineralogie, Hydrologie und Landnutzung.


Abb. 1: Karte der Arsengehalte im Grundwasser von Bangladesch 2001 (British Geological Survey 2001) und Lage der vier aktuellen Untersuchungsstandorte.

Nach aktuellem Forschungsstand wird davon ausgegangen, dass vor allem organischer Kohlenstoff dazu beiträgt, dass anoxische Bedingungen entstehen. Unter diesen Bedingungen lösen sich die Eisenminerale auf, und das daran gebundene Arsen wird freigesetzt.

Im Rahmen der vom HCE geförderten Untersuchungen wurde statistisch geprüft, ob der Abstand zwischen einfachen Fallgrubenlatrinen und Brunnen einen Einfluss auf den Arsengehalt des Brunnens hat (Abb. 2). Das Projekt ist noch nicht abgeschlossen, aber erste Daten weisen darauf hin, dass Brunnen in unmittelbarer Nähe (1-2m) zu Latrinen deutlich weniger Arsen enthalten. Dies ist naheliegend, da über die Latrinen neben organischem Kohlenstoff und Phosphat auch Sauerstoff und Sauerstoffträger wie Nitrat eingetragen werden – die zur Immobilisierung von Arsen führen. Ob im Abstand von Latrinen oder durch andere anthropogene Kohlenstoffeinträge (z.B. Tümpel) geochemische Bedingungen entstehen, die zur Arsenmobilisierung führen, konnte nicht geklärt werden.

Abb. 2: Beispiel eines normalen Badezimmers in Bangladesch: Der einfache Haushaltsbrunnen mit Handpumpe steht unmittelbar neben der Latrine, deren Abwässer üblicherweise in den Untergrund (pit latrine) eine Sickergrube (septic tank) oder in den nächstgelegenen Tümpel – oft nur wenige Meter neben dem Brunnen – geleitet werden.

Ziel der aus diesem Projekt entstandenen Doktorarbeit ist die Klärung der Frage, welche räumlichen und zeitlichen Faktoren feststellbar sind. Dafür sind folgende Ansätze vorgesehen:

  • Luftbildauswertungen zur Bewertung von großräumigen Einflüssen durch Landnutzung (z.B. Nassreisanbau) und monsunbedingte Überflutungen (Abb. 3, Bereich I).
  • Kartierung von anthropogenen Einflüssen (z.B. Tümpel, Latrinen, Brunnen) und flächendeckende Grundwasserprobenahme bei Brunnen in dieser Fläche (Abb. 3, Bereich II und Detail).
  • Sedimentprobenahme zur Berücksichtigung geologischer, hydrologischer und geochemischer Rahmenbedingungen
  • Tiefenzonierte Temperaturmessungen, Grundwasser- und Gasprobenahmen (Abb. 3, Detail) zur Erfassung mikrobieller Abbauaktivität von organischem Kohlenstoff.
Abb.3: Geplante gestufte Methodik an den zwei Standorten.

In einer Bachelorarbeit am Institut für Geowissenschaften konnte bereits festgestellt werden, dass am Standort in Habiganj (NO Bangladesch) extrem hohe Methangehalte auftreten. Isotopenmessungen von Methan (CH4) und Kohlendioxid (CO2) zeigten eindeutige Hinweise auf eine mikrobielle Entstehung der Gase. Auffällig ist insbesondere eine Korrelation zwischen Arsen- und Methangehalten. Im Februar 2020 wurden weitere Gas- und Grundwasserproben an den Standorten Bera und Chandpur (siehe Abb. 1) genommen. Welcher Prozess diesen Zusammenhang hervorruft soll in einem beantragten DFG-Projekt zusammen mit der Universität Tübingen geklärt werden.

Die Promotionsstudie ist auf drei Jahre ausgelegt. Dabei wurde im ersten Jahr (2019) die Methodik entwickelt, die im zweiten Jahr (2020) vor Ort mit Unterstützung eines erfahrenen Probenehmers umgesetzt wird. Im dritten Jahr (2021) werden die gewonnenen Daten ausgewertet. Für die Repräsentativität und Vergleichbarkeit der Daten erfolgen die Probenahmen an zwei Standorten.

Vor Ort wird das Projekt von AGAPE e.V. Bangladesch – der Trägerschaft des Heidelberger Vereins Agape e.V. – organisatorisch unterstützt.

Die Promotion wird finanziert von der Johannes Hübner Stiftung, Gießen.

Wissenschaftliche Schwerpunkte
  • Anthropogene Einflüsse auf geochemische Prozesse im Grundwasser
  • Bangladesch, Südostasien
  • Temperaturmessungen zur Feststellung mikrobieller Abbauaktivität von organischem Kohlenstoff
  • Lokalisierung geochemischer Prozesse
Masterarbeit

Evaluierung anthropogener Einflüsse auf Sediment und Grundwasser sowie deren Auswirkungen auf die Arsenmobilisierung in Bangladesch am Beispiel von Latrinen, in den Distrikten Pabna und Sirajganj.

Bachelorarbeit

Rekonstruktion der Naturraum- und Landwirtschaftsentwicklung anhand sedimentologischer und geochemischer Analysen eines Feuchtgebiets – am Beispiel eines Feuchtgebiets bei Sikenica-Agáta, Süd(west)slowakei.

Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 03.08.2020
zum Seitenanfang/up