Universitätssiegel
Hamid Alberto Abud Russell

Berliner Straße 48
Room 011
E-Mail: hamid.abudr@gmail.com
Tel: +49 6221 54-4546

 

Hamid Alberto Abud Russell

Hamid Alberto Abud Russell is a PhD student at the Geography Institute and a research associate of the Geographies of North America working group. He focuses on the unequal development at play in Latin American cities, with a particular emphasis on the impacts it has on mobility in, and between, the urban centers of the Yucatan Peninsula. This line of enquiry stems from his study of capital flow and overaccumulation, which he explored in his thesis Claiming the Backyard, during his time as an MA student at the Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA).

Research Areas

Hamid A. Abud R. studies space from a sociological perspective to understand the ways in which it both shapes and is shaped by groups and the individual. His focus on mobility is a direct result of his study of overaccumulation and the flow of capital, and how these codify the spaces they occupy and vacate. In the Yucatan Peninsula the latter manifest as investment or spoliation in areas such as housing, public transportation, access to food, and urban infrastructure.

PHD Project

In his PhD project, Hamid A. Abud R. focuses on the present conditions of public transportation in the Yucatan peninsula, the forces that have driven privatization, and its role in the construction and perpetuation of unequal development. The right to move as desired is hampered in cities where public transportation obeys the profit motive, and neglects mobility as a right. Bus routes evidence the restrictive range of motion available to workers, whose only journey is the repetitive path drawn to and from work. These restrictions limit the ability of all urban dwellers to have equal access to all aspects of their environment, it hampers their right to the city.

Publications
  • Keller, J. & Abud Russell, H. A. (2021): “Many producers, many protectors!” — Geographical Reflections on Resilient Intercultural Economies in North-West Campeche, Mexico. In S. Garcia Ferrari, H. E. Offerdal, & M. A. Kania (Eds.): Why Latin America Matters. A Collection of Essays, pp. 100-117. Edinburgh: Center for Contemporary Latin American Studies.
  • Abud Russell, H. A. (2018): “Siria en el torbellino: insurrección, guerras y geopolítica, by Gilberto Conde (coord.).” Estudios de Asia y África, Vol. 53, p. 165.
  • Abud Russell, H. A. (2017): “Seguridad humana, medio ambiente y protestas populares en Asia y África del Norte, by Marisela Connelly.” Estudio de Asia y África, Vol. 52, p. 162.
  • Abud Russell, H. A. (2017): “And Then All Hell Broke Loose. Two Decades in the Middle East, by Richard Engel.” In Auctoritas Non Veritas, https://ricardojassonet.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/h-abud-22and-then-all-hell-broke-loose22-auctoritas-non-veritas.pdf.
Editor: Webmaster Team
Latest Revision: 2021-11-15
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel
Hamid Alberto Abud Russell

Berliner Straße 48
Raum 011
E-Mail: hamid.abudr@gmail.com
Tel: +49 6221 54-4546

 

Hamid Alberto Abud Russell

Hamid Alberto Abud Russell ist Doktorand am Geographischen Institut und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Arbeitsgruppe Geographie Nordamerikas. Er konzentriert sich auf die ungleiche Entwicklung lateinamerikanischer Städte. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf deren Auswirkungen auf die Mobilität in und zwischen den urbanen Zentren der Halbinsel Yucatan. Diese Fragestellung ergibt sich aus seiner Studie zu Kapitalfluss und Überakkumulation, die er während seiner Zeit als MA-Student am Heidelberg Centre for American Studies (HCA) in seiner Masterarbeit „Claiming the Backyard“ untersuchte.

Forschungsinteressen

Er untersucht den Raum aus soziologischer Perspektive, um zu verstehen, wie er von Gruppen und Individuen gestaltet wird. Sein Fokus auf Mobilität ist das direkte Ergebnis seiner Untersuchung der Überakkumulation und des Kapitalflusses, und wie diese die Räume kodifizieren, die sie einnehmen und verlassen. Auf der Halbinsel Yucatan manifestiert sich Letzteres als Investition oder Raubbau in Bereichen wie Wohnraum, öffentliche Verkehrsmittel, Zugang zu Nahrungsmitteln und städtischer Infrastruktur.

Promotionsprojekt

In seiner Doktorarbeit beschäftigt sich Hamid A. Abud R. mit den aktuellen Bedingungen des öffentlichen Verkehrs auf der Halbinsel Yucatan, den Kräften, die die Privatisierung vorangetrieben haben, und seiner Rolle bei der Konstruktion und Aufrechterhaltung einer ungleichen Entwicklung. Das Recht, sich nach Belieben fortzubewegen, wird in Städten behindert, in denen der öffentliche Verkehr dem Profit dient und Mobilität als Recht vernachlässigt. Busrouten zeugen von dem eingeschränkten Bewegungsspielraum, der den Arbeitnehmern zur Verfügung steht, deren einzige Fahrt der repetitive Weg zur und von der Arbeit ist. Diese Einschränkungen schränken den gleichberechtigten Zugang aller Stadtbewohner zu allen Aspekten ihrer Umwelt ein und erschweren ihr Recht auf die Stadt.

Publikationen
  • Keller, J. & Abud Russell, H. A. (2021): “Many producers, many protectors!” — Geographical Reflections on Resilient Intercultural Economies in North-West Campeche, Mexico. In S. Garcia Ferrari, H. E. Offerdal, & M. A. Kania (Eds.): Why Latin America Matters. A Collection of Essays, pp. 100-117. Edinburgh: Center for Contemporary Latin American Studies.
  • Abud Russell, H. A. (2018): “Siria en el torbellino: insurrección, guerras y geopolítica, by Gilberto Conde (coord.).” Estudios de Asia y África, Vol. 53, p. 165.
  • Abud Russell, H. A. (2017): “Seguridad humana, medio ambiente y protestas populares en Asia y África del Norte, by Marisela Connelly.” Estudio de Asia y África, Vol. 52, p. 162.
  • Abud Russell, H. A. (2017): “And Then All Hell Broke Loose. Two Decades in the Middle East, by Richard Engel.” In Auctoritas Non Veritas, https://ricardojassonet.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/h-abud-22and-then-all-hell-broke-loose22-auctoritas-non-veritas.pdf.
Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 15.11.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up