Universitätssiegel

Lauren Rever

Lauren Rever is a PhD student in the graduate program Authority and Trust in American Culture, Society, History, and Politics at the Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA), funded by the German Research Association (DFG). She is a public historian whose dissertation focuses on authority and trust in US historical institutions. Since 2012, she has worked at museums, historic sites, and cultural institutions in Washington, DC and in the Boston area, often as a public-facing staff member. Originally from New Hampshire, Lauren received her bachelor’s degree from Boston College in 2014 with a double major in History and German. She then spent a year teaching English on a Fulbright Scholarship in Ahrensburg, Germany. In 2017 she completed a master’s degree in American Studies, Museums and Material Culture from The George Washington University in Washington, DC. Lauren believes museums are not neutral and she stands with history professionals against the notion of “patriotic education.”

Research Areas

Influenced by her work as a tour guide, Lauren Rever’s work examines the roles of historical institutions in American life. This includes museums, monuments, and historic sites. Her interdisciplinary approach draws from geography, American studies, and pubic history in order to examine the processes of US “history-making.” She is especially interested in the structures of historical institutions. Furthermore, Lauren continuously strives to place visitors and public history workers at the center of her research in order to upend traditional institutional hierarchies.

PhD Project

In her PhD project, Lauren Rever uses the lens of authority and trust to unpack what happens at points of contact between historical institutions and “the public.” Breaking down these points of contact is a starting point to explore tourism, the history profession, labor, identity, and space – key components of historical institutions. This PhD project is part of a larger interdisciplinary endeavor with the graduate program on authority and trust at the Heidelberg Center for American Studies.

Editor: Webmaster Team
Latest Revision: 2020-10-20
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel

Lauren Rever

Lauren Rever ist Doktorandin im Graduiertenkolleg Authority and Trust in American Culture, Society, History, and Politics am Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA), gefördert von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft. Als public historian befasst sie sich im Rahmen ihrer Dissertation mit Autorität und Vertrauen an historischen Institutionen der USA. Seit 2012 arbeitete sie im Bereich der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit an Museen, historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten und kulturellen Institutionen in Washington D.C. und Boston. Lauren Rever studierte Geschichte und Deutsch am Boston College und unterrichtete anschließend mit einem Fulbright Stipendium Englisch in Ahrensburg, Deutschland. 2017 schloss sie ihr Masterstudium in American Studies, Museums and Material Culture an der Washington University in Washington, DC ab. Lauren Rever empfindet Museen als nicht neutral und stellt sich, gemeinsam mit Geschichtsexperten entgegen dem Begriff der „patriotic education“.

Forschungsinteressen

Beeinflusst durch ihre Arbeit an historischen Institutionen untersucht Lauren Rever den Einfluss von Museen und Denkmälern auf die US-amerikanische Gesellschaft. Ihr interdisziplinärer Ansatz zur Untersuchung der amerikanischen Geschichtsschreibung stützt sich auf die Fachbereiche der Geographie, American Studies und Public History. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt den Strukturen historischer Institutionen. Darüber hinaus ist sie bemüht besonders die Besucher und Mitarbeiter in den Mittelpunkt ihrer Forschung zu stellen.

Promotionsprojekt

In Ihrer Dissertation nutzt Lauren Rever den Blickwinkel von Authority and Trust, um herauszufinden inwiefern sich historische Institutionen und die Öffenmtlichleit sich gegenseitig beeinflussen. Dies bildet einen Grundstein zur Untersuchung von Tourismus, Geschichte, Arbeit und Identität, den Schlüsselkomponenten der historischen Institutionen. Das Promotionsprojekt ist eingebettet in das DFG-Graduiertenkolleg Authority and Trust am Heidelberg Center for American Studies.

Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 20.10.2020
zum Seitenanfang/up