Universitätssiegel
Project details

Project duration: 2022

 

Research project

Regiopolen

Regiopolises - Between Metropolises and High-Order Centres in the German Urban System

Regiopolises and regiopolitan regions are currently receiving a great deal of attention in urban system research and in spatial planning policy. In spatial planning policy, regiopolises are assumed to be growth and innovation cores outside of metropolitan regions and are thus the bearers of hope for supporting equal living conditions in Germany. In 2019, the conclusions of the Equal Living Conditions Commission recommended “promoting the establishment of the network of regional centres”. The Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport and The Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development are currently implementing this in the “Shaping the Region” programme.

At the same time, from the point of view of urban system research, there is still a lack of clarity as to which functional and spatial dimension can be associated with regiopolises. What are the functions of regiopolises? How can regiopolises be spatially delimited? What is the relationship between regiopolises and their surrounding areas and metropolises and their metropolitan, possibly polycentric, interconnected areas?

These questions will be addressed in cooperation with the TU Dortmund University. Based on a critical review of the previous understanding of regiopolises, a further understanding of regiopolises and proposals for the empirical analysis of regiopolises will be developed.

Editor: Webmaster Team
Latest Revision: 2022-05-11
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel
Projektdetails

Projektlaufzeit: 2022

 

Forschungsprojekt

Regiopolen

Regiopolen – Zwischen Metropolen und Oberzentren im deutschen Städtesystem

In der Städtesystemforschung und in der Raumordnungspolitik erfahren Regiopolen und Regiopolregionen aktuell hohe Aufmerksamkeit. In der Raumordnungspolitik werden Regiopolen als Wachstums- und Innovationskerne außerhalb der Metropolregionen angenommen und sind damit Hoffnungsträger bei der Unterstützung gleichwertiger Lebensverhältnisse in Deutschland. So wird 2019 in den Schlussfolgerungen der Kommission Gleichwertige Lebensverhältnisse empfohlen „den Aufbau des Netzwerkes der Regiopolen zu fördern“. Das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur und das Bundesinstitut für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung setzten dies im Programm „Region gestalten“ aktuell um.

Zugleich bestehen aus Sicht der Städtesystemforschung noch Unklarheiten, welche funktionale und räumliche Dimension mit Regiopolen verbunden werden kann. Welche Funktionen machen Regiopolen aus? Wie können Regiopolen räumlich abgegrenzt werden? In welchem Verhältnis stehen Regiopolen zu ihrem Umland und Metropolen und ihren metropolitanen, ggf. polyzentralen Verflechtungsräumen?

Diese Fragen werden in der Kooperation mit der TU Dortmund bearbeitet. Auf der Grundlage einer kritischen Aufarbeitung des bisherigen Verständnisses von Regiopolen wird ein weiterführendes Verständnis von Regiopolen und Vorschläge zur empirischen Analyse von Regiopolen entwickelt.

Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 11.05.2022
zum Seitenanfang/up