Universitätssiegel
Julia Henke

Julia Henke, Dipl.-Geogr., M.Sc.

Information on archiving:
Selected pages of this website are being preserved for archiving purposes. Since their contents are not getting updated anymore, the given information may be out of date or inaccurate.

Julia Henke joined the Geography of North America working group in April 2013. She graduated from the Julius-Maximilians-University of Würzburg where she obtained a Geography degree with Sociology and Ethnology as minor subjects. In her diploma thesis she used GIS for both the visualization, and the analysis of potential crime patterns in Würzburg. To do so, she undertook qualitative and quantitative in depth analysis of registered criminal acts. After the completion of the Geography studies in Germany, she wanted to improve her GIS skills; therefore, she took part in a one-year M.Sc. in GIS and Remote Sensing at Aberystwyth University, Wales. For her master thesis she examined the relationship between human health, social deprivation and recreational areas in Wales. The work was part-funded by the European Social Fund (Access to Masters Funding).

Research Areas and PhD Project

Julia Henke's research interests involve the Geography of Crime including associated urban processes as well as man-environment relationships. In particular she is interested in the potential effect to humans, of the increasing degradation of ecosystem services and the loss of biological diversity.

Julia Henke PhD research deals with urban inequalities in the Creative City. In the past, scientific literature has provided evidence that high concentration on knowledge-intensive industries has overall positive effects on cities as a whole. However, current research has cast some doubt on the general positive effects. Furthermore, critics argue that urban inequalities are increased when knowledge-intensive industry is present, due to the one-sided focus on education, creativity and social networks. The PhD project deals with a comparative analysis of six different cities, located in Europe and North-America. The research objectives consist of analyzing aspects of marginalization and fragmentation both quantitatively and qualitatively in the observed six cities. As part of the international pilot study on “Urban Inequality in the Creative City”, the project is supported by the Mobility Programme of the Excellence Initiative II.

Publications
  • Henke, Julia (2012): Die Bedeutung GIS-gestützter Kriminalitätsmuster für die Sicherheit - untersucht am Beispiel Würzburg. In: Dippon, Peter; Meier, Gino; Nüsser, Marcus; Schmidt, Susanne; Siegmund, Alexander (Hg.): HGG-Journal, Vol. 26. Heidelberg: Selbstverlag der Heidelberger Geographischen Gesellschaft, S. 217-225.
  • Henke, Julia (2012): Integration of socioeconomic and economic data into ecosystem goods and services analyses for Wales. Aberystwyth, Wales. (unveröffentlicht). Henke, Julia (2011): Die Bedeutung GIS-gestützter Kriminalitätsmuster für die Sicherheit - untersucht am Beispiel Würzburg. (unveröffentlicht).
Editor: Webmaster Team
Latest Revision: 2017-02-23
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel
Julia Henke

Julia Henke, Dipl.-Geogr., M.Sc.

Hinweis zu Archivseiten:
Aus Archivierungsgründen werden ausgewählte Seiten des Instituts weiterhin aufbewahrt. Da sie aber inhaltlich nicht mehr gepflegt werden, stellen die hier aufgeführten Informationen u.U. nicht mehr den aktuellen Stand dar.

Julia Henke war bis zum Wintersemester 2013/14 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in der Abteilung Geographie Nordamerikas. Zuvor studierte sie an der Julius-Maximilians-Universität in Würzburg Geographie mit den Nebenfächern Soziologie und Volkskunde. In ihrer Diplomarbeit beschäftigte sie sich mit der GIS-basierten Visualisierung und Analyse eines potentiellen Kriminalitätsmusters am Beispiel der Stadt Würzburg. Nicht zuletzt dadurch entdeckte sie die vielfältigen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten sowie das große Potential von GIS im Bereich human-geographischer Fragestellungen. Deswegen vertiefte sie ihre GIS Kenntnisse im einjährigen Masterprogramm Geographic Information Systems & Remote Sensing an der Universität in Aberystwyth, Wales. Im Rahmen ihrer Masterarbeit untersuchte sie den Zusammenhang von Erholungsflächen, Gesundheit und sozialer Benachteiligung walisischer Einwohner und wurde dabei gefördert vom Access to Masters (ATM) Programm.

Forschungsinteressen und Promotionsvorhaben

Ihre Forschungsinteressen sind breit gefächert: sie umfassen einerseits die kritische Kriminalitätsgeographie sowie die damit verbundenden urbanen Prozesse und andererseits den Zusammenhang Mensch-Umwelt in Anbetracht der zunehmenden Degradierung von Ökosystemgütern- und Leistungen.

Im Promotionsvorhaben befasst sich Julia Henke mit urbanen Ungleichheiten in kreativen Städten. Lange Zeit ist die Fachliteratur davon ausgegangen, dass die Fokussierung auf wissensbasierte Industrien innerhalb einer Stadt eine generell positive Wirkung auf das gesamtstädtische Milieu hat. Allerdings werden in den letzten Jahren kritische Stimmen laut, die nicht nur diesen positiven Effekt in Frage stellen sondern sogar die Vergrößerung diverser stadtgeographischer Disparitäten dadurch bedingt sehen. Eingebettet in eine internationale Pilotstudie zu „Urban Inequality in the Creative City“, die im Rahmen des Mobilitätsprogramms der Exzellenzinitiative II, Zukunftskonzepte von der Universität Heidelberg gefördert wird, befasst sich die Dissertation mit der komparativen Analyse von sechs verschiedene Städte in Europa und Nordamerika und versucht, Aspekte hinsichtlich Marginalisierung und Fragmentierung quantitativ und vor allem qualitativ zu analysieren.

Publikationen
  • Henke, Julia (2012): Die Bedeutung GIS-gestützter Kriminalitätsmuster für die Sicherheit - untersucht am Beispiel Würzburg. In: Dippon, Peter; Meier, Gino; Nüsser, Marcus; Schmidt, Susanne; Siegmund, Alexander (Hg.): HGG-Journal, Vol. 26. Heidelberg: Selbstverlag der Heidelberger Geographischen Gesellschaft, S. 217-225.
  • Henke, Julia (2012): Integration of socioeconomic and economic data into ecosystem goods and services analyses for Wales. Aberystwyth, Wales. (unveröffentlicht). Henke, Julia (2011): Die Bedeutung GIS-gestützter Kriminalitätsmuster für die Sicherheit - untersucht am Beispiel Würzburg. (unveröffentlicht).
Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 23.02.2017
zum Seitenanfang/up